Interning @ CKWL

I first volunteered at Campus Kitchens in October of my freshmen year during Bonner Scholar Orientation, we did a cooking shift, and then a delivery to Glasgow. After this first time volunteering at the kitchen, I found that I was really interested in learning more about it and volunteering on a regular basis. I started coming to the Sunday cooking shifts every week, and joined the leadership team that spring after deciding that I wanted to make a more intensive commitment to working at the kitchen.

This year I got a chance to see more of the diverse array of clients that Campus Kitchens works with, and after spending my Feb Break volunteering at the kitchen all day, I decided that I would really like to stay in Lexington this summer and intern at the kitchen.

I am excited to get to know more about the sites and clients that we serve at Campus Kitchens this summer, but first  I will tell you all a little about me.  My name is Angelica, and I am a rising junior at Washington and Lee. As a Bonner Scholar my main service sites are Waddell Elementary, Natural Bridge Elementary, and of course, Campus Kitchens. I am also working to set up a college mentoring program at the high school, and in the coming school year that will become a primary placement for me as well.

This summer I will be working primarily with the youth related shifts, as I am very interested in education and issues related to childhood poverty. We have already begun summer nutrition programs with the YMCA summer camp and the Summer Fun program, and I am excited to report that we have had a lot of fun teaching nutrition to the kids so far! I know a few of the kids already from volunteering at Waddell, as well as from the nutrition/cooking class that we taught as an after-school program for kids during winter term. I am excited to get to know the ones I don’t already know throughout the summer.

In addition to working with the youth programs, I will also be working on the Manor delivery shifts. Last week, I was fortunate enough to go to the Manor for the first time, since the youth programs had not yet begun, and I found that I really connected with and enjoyed meeting the residents there. So, after talking to Jenny, we have added that to my schedule for this summer, and I will be heading to the Manor every Monday and Wednesday.

I am also excited to learn more about the administrative sides of Campus Kitchens this summer, so far I have begun to put together meal plans and enter our food donation and HAACP information into the computer. I am interested in learning a little about grant writing, as well, this summer.

Anyway, that is all I have to report so far, but keep reading the Campus Kitchens blog for more updates this summer.

Leave a Reply

