Last Week in Lexington, VA

Although I am very much excited about being reunited with my friends and family back home, I can’t help but think about the people I will be leaving here in Lexington. I would like to think that in some way I have positively affected this community. But most importantly, I’d like to take a moment to talk about how this community has affected me.

Working for the Campus Kitchen at Washington and Lee University has been very fulfilling. For me this job has been challenging, exciting, and sometimes intimidating. But I have grown so much from these experiences. The thought of having to talk to clients and be engaging with people I’ve never met–in a town I’ve never heard of–was a little uncomfortable for me. Not to mention, a lot of our clients have some sort of disability. This is to say, I was definitely kicked out of my comfort zone. And, I can honestly say for this I am grateful.

Everyone here is so nice and I will miss the southern hospitality that Lexington, VA represents. The spirit of community will stay with me when I leave and I hope that I can bring back this idea of cooperation and collaboration back home.

The Campus Kitchens Project is a wonderful organization and I know the Kitchen will continue to thrive under the impeccable leadership of the coordinator Ms. Jennifer Sproul.

Farewell!

With Love,

Isis A. Rose

Leave a Reply

