Timing Turkeypalooza (and the official menu)

Turkeypalooza is always a crazy time of year, but this time around I have even more going on since it is also Hunger and Homelessness Awareness Week (sponsered by Nabors Service League, which I advise).  That means I need a very specific schedule to get everything done.  While I do have both a planner and a calendar in my email, nothing helps me get organized like a plain piece of paper with an hour-by-hour to do list.

In addition to our 4 Turkeypalooza cooking shifts, I will also be roasting 11 turkeys (our ovens will only hold 4 at a time).  In a normal week this would be easy to accomplish, but our ovens will be busting to contain:

  • Turkey (reheating the second time around to serve)
  • Gravy
  • Mashed Potatoes
  • Green Bean Casserole
  • Stuffing
  • Butternut Squash Casserole

for every agency we serve.  That’s in addition to our items served cold:

  • Bread/rolls
  • Pumpkin Pie

Assuming I can follow my schedule, it will all get done.

Basically we’re looking forward to a very full but rewarding week!  It’s not too late to join us: sign up here.

One response

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Timing Turkeypalooza (and the official menu) « The Campus Kitchen at Washington and Lee -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

